Beignets Inspired by Princess Tiana

When getting ready and inspired to recreate traditional New Orleans beignets, I had all intentions of making a beautiful yeast dough. Unfortunately, my yeast was expired, like by a long a lot (oops) … During Quarantine, I don’t make a habit of going to the store casually or for 1-2 things so, I had to pivot and be creative.

I landed on using ready-made puff pastry dough (cut into 3×3 in squares and shallow fried). I would bump these semi-home made beignets up with a scratch made golden syrup to mimic Tiana’s honey drizzle, pre-powdered sugar. I used this recipe from Bigger Bolder Baking (quartered it) and was really happy with the turn out, thrilled actually! Consistency, color, taste were all on point.

After shallow frying beignets to a beautiful golden brown, I drizzled with golden syrup, and sprinkled with powedered sugar. That is it. Just a fun and simple Fictional Food recreation.

Wishing you a moment of magic and whimsy today! You got this!

Leave a comment